RSS

Starting NaBloPoMo

01 Nov

I’m hoping this won’t be the only post I end up making today, since it would feel like a bit of a cop out to make my first day’s blog simply be ”I’m starting NaBloPoMo and this is my first post”.  But I’m not exactly an experienced blogger (hence my taking part), so I guess we’ll see.

NaBloPoMo, as you can probably guess from the name, follows along somewhat similar lines to NaNoWriMo, but rather than writing a 50’000 word novel in a single month the idea is to blog posts on a daily basis.  As with NaNoWriMo the aim is quantity over quality to get into the habit of writing more frequently instead of trying to produce a stellar piece of work the first time through.  I was kinda, sorta interested in trying out NaNoWriMo this year, but I wasn’t so interested in working on such a large piece of fictional writing.  I was going to try and stumble along with it in my own haphazard way of writing 50’000 words worth of non-fiction articles, but thankfully I found out that someone’s already had the idea and set up another site for this. If I had joined NaNoWriMo instead I probably would have ended up trying to bash the whole thing out in the last few days anyhow

I’ve always intended to write short articles or posts more often, but in the past 2 1/2 years I’ve managed a grant total of 7.  If I manage to keep this up for a week I’ll have already improved far beyond what I’ve done in the past, but I’m going to keep going with this for as long as possible, even I do miss the occasional day here and there.  I am going to try and avoid this turning into a daily blog of “Here’s what I did today”, unless I just so happened to have done something of particular interest that day (unlikely), but as it’ll be my daily rambling board I expect things to leak through every now and then.

I think there’s prizes involved too, but I’m not sure if I’m eligible to win any outside of the US and I’m really interested enough to look them up.  Give it a few weeks and we’ll see if that changed at all.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in NaBloPoMo

 

Leave a Reply

 
