RSS

My single New Year’s resolution for 2013

30 Dec

Before going on about what I intend to do next year I should probably talk a little about how trying a single resolution for 2012 went. In short it worked really well. While I’ve still got some work to do, I’ve been keeping track of how much I’ve bitten the crap out of my fingers, and I’ve got it down from close to 30 times a month to just under 5. Ideally I’ll have stopped doing it altogether before too much longer, but I’m just happy to have cut it down so much.

Going along similar lines to last year I’m not going to try to do so many things at once that I don’t get any of them done. Instead I’ll focus on just one single thing and doing my best to accomplish that. The problem is that I can’t think of a single task that I can work towards that would take me an entire year. Certainly there are things I “could” do, like learning to sew, or maybe finish up learning German, but if I spend the entire year intending to do this I just know that I won’t do anything for most of the year then I’ll either give up without accomplishing anything, or panic and try to get it all done in the last few months with mediocre results. Instead I’m going to try something I heard about earlier this year called “30 day challenges”.

The premise is pretty simple. For 30 days (or 1 calendar month) you must do, or not do a particular thing. This might be walking a certain distance every day, or maybe giving up chocolate or takeaway food for a whole month. I’m not sure what I’m going to do for every single month off the top of my head, but I’ve got a few ideas. Most of the time I’ll only have a single thing to either do or not do, but if it’s easy for me to “not do” something then I’ll probably do 2 at once. As long as I don’t go nuts and try to give up takeaway food, chocolate, visit the gym twice a week and walk 5 miles a day all at once, then I should be okay. Should be interesting to try this out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2012 in Self-Improvement

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
